Godflesh Reveal New Song ‘Imperator’

By on 19 September 2014


The mighty Godflesh have just revealed ‘Imperator’, another new song from their high awaited comeback album ‘A World Lit Only By Fire’, and you’ll be pleased to hear it’s pretty damn heavy indeed…

After reuniting to play a select few shows back in 2009, Godflesh surprised everyone this year by releasing the four track ‘Decline And Fall’ EP, which was the first new material this legendary duo had released in 13 years. Now, the pair have just finished working on a brand new studio album too, and if ‘Imperator’ is anything to go by we’re in for a treat, as GC Green’s clanking, thunderous bass collides with that harsh, instantly familiar mechanical drum sound to provide a perfect backdrop for Justin Broadrick’s humongous riffs and eerie, melancholy vocals.

Check it out below…

Here’s the album track list:

1. New Dark Ages
2. Deadend
3. Shut Me Down
4. Life Giver Life Taker
5. Obeyed
6. Curse Us All
7. Carrion
8. Imperator
9. Towers of Emptiness
10. Forgive Our Fathers

Godflesh will also be playing several UK dates this December. The full list of tour dates are as follows:

Tue 09.12.14 The Haunt Brighton
Wed 10.12.14 Garage London
Thu 11.12.14 Rescue Rooms Nottingham
Fri 12.12.14 Sound Control Manchester
Sat 13.12.14 Art School Glasgow

‘A World Lit Only By Fire’ is due to be released on October 7th via Avalanche.

You can find Godflesh on Facebook.

About Kez Whelan

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: