Listen to the new album by Obake ‘Draugr’

By on 28 October 2016

The new album by Obake ‘Draugr’ is released today on Rare Noise Records. You can buy a copy of ‘Draugr’ here.

Following the release of their self-titled debut album in 2011, and 2014’s Mutations, Obake are back. Their third LP, entitled Draugr, signals both a return to the origins of the band and a purification of their sound. This shift is immediately apparent in the choice of title: while the Japanese term Obake (お化け) signifies ‘that which changes’, ‘shapeshifter’ or more generally ‘ghost of a departed’, Draugr is a term of Indo-European origin which means ‘creature returning from the dead’.

The compactness and formal cohesion of Obake, found in exemplary fashion on Draugr, reflects the newly found balance in the band. The line-up now features their live drummer Jacopo Pierazzuoli (MoRkObOt; Kings Of Fire), Colin Edwin on electric bass (Metallic Taste Of Blood ; o.R.k.), Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari on guitars and vocals (o.R.k.) and Eraldo Bernocchi on guitars (Metallica Taste Of Blood).


About Miranda Yardley

I'm Miranda. Bite me.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: