False Flags stream new album ‘Hexmachine’

By on 19 November 2015

False Flags are streaming new mini-album ‘Hexmachine’ which is out tomorrow, Friday 20 November.

Between 2005 and 2010, Leeds had one of the most vibrant DIY hardcore/metal scenes in the UK with Humanfly, Chickenhawk, Whores Whores Whores, Narcosis, Year of the Man, The Plight, Red Stars Parade, Bilge Pump, Gentleman’s Pistols and Send More Paramedics playing week in, week out alongside regular visitors to the city such as Bossk, Taint and Manatees.

While the majority of these acts broke-up years ago, many have gone on to form newer bands creating a whole host of exciting new heavy music within Yorkshire. One of those is False Flags, formed out of the ashes of Red Stars Parade, Whores x 3 and Year of the Man they are set to self-release their new mini-album ‘Hexmachine’ on 20th November. You can get False Flags’s ‘Hexmachine’ on their Bandcamp page here.

Taking inspiration from the likes of Unsane, Breather Resist, Botch and Coalesce, False Flags have slowly but carefully crafted out a 6 track debut mini-album of abrasive, disjointed but solid rock titled ‘Hexmachine’. This is the sort of hard-hitting music that has led them sharing stages over the past few years alongside Noothgrush, Narrows, Envy and most recently Mutoid Man.

The lyrics within the album remain relatively obscure with a focus more on creating images or ideas rather than having any cohesive themes to them. As the band comment:

“they’re not political or anything. At the serious end I guess you’ve got stuff like religion in there, but some of it is just supposed to be quite humorous – ‘Pet Wolf’ is about frontman Jenko’s chihuahuas so when you see him screaming, bear in mind he’s screaming about chihuahuas. And then think that he’s grown adult man with 3 kids….”

The band will launch their album Friday 20 November 2015 at Bad Apples in Leeds with a free show with support from Clenstch and Gloomweaver.

False Flags are:

Chris Jenkinson – Vocals
Charles J. Pritchard – Guitars
Mark Snellgrove – Bass
Mike McGoran Drums

Produced by Ross Halden – Ghost Town

False Flags 600

About Miranda Yardley

I'm Miranda. Bite me.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

%d bloggers like this: